Start today's run

What are the best free UKMLA question banks?

Start with the Medical Schools Council's 200-item practice AKT, then add free daily practice. WardRun, which we make, gives free daily UKMLA questions. BMJ OnExamination is free for BMA members. Large paid banks such as PassMedicine and Quesmed go deeper.

Disclosure: WardRun is a free UKMLA medical revision tool for UK medical students, made by Med Services Ltd. It is listed here alongside the other options, described from the same kinds of public facts.

Free and free-to-start options

OptionWhat it isWhereCost, as statedSource and date
Medical Schools Council practice AKTA 200-item practice exam (two papers of 100 items) blueprinted to the MLA content map, as PDFs with and without answers and justifications.PDF downloadNo price listed on the page.medschools.ac.uk, checked 15 October 2026
BMJ OnExamination (via the BMA)"Thousands of exam-style questions" for the MLA. The BMA says it is free exclusively for BMA members, and that medical student membership is £3.50 a month.Not stated on their public pageIncluded with BMA membership, as the BMA states.bma.org.uk, checked 15 October 2026
Geeky MedicsA free bank of "more than 50,000 free multiple choice questions covering clinical medicine, anatomy and basic sciences", with tailored quizzes, detailed explanations and discussions. There is also a separate paid MLA AKT Question Bank: "over 3500 high-quality questions (not AI-generated)", two MLA AKT mock exams, flashcards and a Notebook of 500+ topic summaries.Web (app.geekymedics.com)Free with a Geeky Medics account; the MLA AKT bank is a paid add-on (price not shown on its page).geekymedics.com / app.geekymedics.com, checked 15 October 2026
WardRun (ours)Free UKMLA revision tool. The Daily is one run of clinical-case questions a day, the same for everyone, three wards from easy to hard, every answer explained. Also Blitz, five questions against the clock. 6,800+ single best answer questions in the bank, mapped to the 2026 UKMLA content map.Web (wardrun.com) and iPhoneDaily and Blitz free every day. WardRun Study is £3.99 a month or £34.99 a year.WardRun facts as of 15 October 2026

Facts about other products come from each product's own public page, read on 15 October 2026. Prices and features change, so check the source before you rely on them. Names are used only to identify the products.

Large paid banks, for comparison

Free resources rarely cover a whole course. The big paid banks are PassMedicine, which states "over 12,000 SBA questions for medical finals and the UKMLA", and Quesmed, which has a Clinical and MLA question bank covering the AKT and OSCE (CPSA). Neither publishes a price on its public page, so check their sites for current offers and free demos.

Who each is best for

  • Medical Schools Council practice AKT: the closest thing to the real format, so use it to test where you stand, not to learn from scratch. It is two fixed papers, so you can use it once.
  • BMJ OnExamination: if you are or become a BMA member, a large bank at no extra cost; the BMA states student membership is £3.50 a month.
  • Geeky Medics: if you want a very large free bank of general questions with explanations; the MLA AKT bank and mock exams are a separate paid add-on.
  • WardRun: if you want fresh free questions every day, mapped to the 2026 UKMLA content map, with every answer explained. The wider bank of 6,800+ questions and spaced repetition sit behind WardRun Study at £3.99 a month or £34.99 a year.

See also which apps to use to revise for the UKMLA and PassMedicine alternatives.

Common questions

What are the best free UKMLA question banks?

The Medical Schools Council practice AKT (200 items) is the standard free starting point, BMJ OnExamination is free for BMA members, and WardRun gives free daily UKMLA questions. None of the free options replaces a full paid bank for a whole course.

Is there a free UKMLA practice exam?

Yes. The Medical Schools Council publishes a 200-item practice exam as two 100-item PDF papers, with and without answers and justifications.

How much of WardRun is free?

The Daily and Blitz are free every day. WardRun Study, which opens the whole bank with spaced repetition, is £3.99 a month or £34.99 a year.

Are your descriptions of other banks checked?

Each fact comes from the product's own public page, checked on 15 October 2026, and is cited below. Where a page does not state a price or count, it is left out.

A new set every day

6,800+ questions mapped to the 2026 UKMLA content map, free every day with every answer explained.

Start today's run Download on the App Store